2017 Texas Medal of Arts Awards Announces Full Schedule of Events

by Texas Cultural Trust

The star-studded Texas Medal of Arts Awards show, presented by AT&T, will take place on Wednesday, February 22 at Texas Performing Arts, The University of Texas at Austin. The event will begin with a Red Carpet Reception, presented by Anheuser-Busch, at 5:30 p.m., followed by the Awards show at 7:00 p.m. This year, the Awards, co-chaired by San Antonio’s Peter Holt and Guillermo Nicolas, will celebrate the following honorees who will join the prestigious list of past award recipients: Eloise & John Paul DeJoria of Paul Mitchell / Patrón for Corporate Arts Patron; Kris Kristofferson for Multimedia; Lynn Wyatt for Individual Arts Patron; Lauren Anderson for Dance; Yolanda Adams for Music; Dallas Black Dance Theatre for Arts Education; Renée Elise Goldsberry for Theatre; The Tobin Endowment for Foundation Arts Patron; Leo Villareal for Visual Arts; Frank Welch for Architecture; John Phillip Santos for Literary Arts; Scott Pelley for Journalism; and Kenny Rogers for Lifetime Achievement.

The Awards will be hosted by 2001 Texas Medal of Arts Awards honoree and legendary performer Debbie Allen. Special performances and presentations include: 2015 honorees The Gatlin Brothers, 2009 honoree Ray Benson, 2005 honoree Vikki Carr, GRAMMY© award-winning Conspirare, Dallas Black Dance Theatre, Texas Young Masters Nizhoni Begay (Music) and Luke Westerman (Dance), and more.

The evening will come to a memorable end with a gala dinner at 8:30 p.m., where guests will dine alongside Texas arts, business, legislative, and entertainment notables.

The series of events will begin with a VIP Preview Party at the Contemporary Austin, on Tuesday, February 21, followed by a private honoree dinner featuring Chef Rene Ortiz of Launderette in Austin, Chef John Brand of Hotel Emma’s Supper in San Antonio, and Pastry Chef Natalie Gazaui of Eberly in Austin, as well as wine pairings by Texas winemaker Pelle Legna Vineyards in Tyler. The events will continue with the Stars of Texas Brunch at the Governor’s Mansion, hosted by First Lady Cecilia Abbott and presented by The Tobin Endowment, on Wednesday, February 22.  The Stars of Texas Brunch will include a reading by Texas Poet Laureate Dr. Carmen Tafolla, and a performance by Texas Young Master Emma Coldwell.  Honorees will receive their medals from Governor Greg Abbott at a private reception inside the residence preceding the brunch.

In its ninth biennial year, the Texas Medal of Arts Awards is the Texas Cultural Trust’s signature event and the state’s most prestigious arts gala, honoring amazing Texans who have made powerful contributions to the arts here at home and around the world.

To date, the Texas Medal of Arts Awards has presented 99 medals to 105 Texas legends and luminaries who have achieved greatness through their creative talents, as well as those whose generosity has opened doors to artistic opportunity for Texans of all ages.  The Awards spotlight the impact of the arts on the state’s economy and our children’s education, preserving the unique and proud Texas culture. The Awards have celebrated various influential and talented honorees including Jamie Foxx, Eva Longoria, ZZ Top, Willie Nelson, Dan Rather, Neiman Marcus, Margaret McDermott, Barbara Smith Conrad, Tommy Lee Jones, Bob Schieffer, Debbie Allen, Robert Rodriguez, Walter Cronkite, Lake Flato Architects, Austin, City Limits, the Nasher Foundation, Sandra Cisneros, Robert Rauschenberg, Clint Black, Anheuser Busch Companies, Lyle Lovett, Texas Monthly, Robert Edsel, and Exxon Mobil, among others.

Tickets to the Red Carpet Reception and Texas Medal of Arts Awards show are $100 per person. For more information or to purchase tickets to the Texas Medal of Arts Awards, please visit TexasMedalofArts.org.