Ito Deutsch of McAllen, Renard Johnson of El Paso and Gay Gaddis and Darrell Windham of Austin Join the Texas Non-Profit’s Board of Directors

The Texas Cultural Trust, a nonprofit organization whose mission is to be the leading voice for the arts in education, advocacy, and economic impact in Texas, has announced the appointment of four new members to its Board of Directors, including Ito Deutsch, Gay Gaddis, Renard Johnson and Darrell Windham. The Texas Cultural Trust’s Board of Directors is a statewide governing board comprised of industry and business leaders, arts patrons, and artists, all passionate about the impact and utilization of the arts to benefit the state of Texas.

Aladar “Ito” Deutsch is President of Deutsch & Deutsch Jewelers, which has a long history of supporting the arts since 1928. Born in Laredo and presently living in McAllen, Deutsch has served as a Board Member for the Laredo Children’s Museum, President of Washington’s Birthday Celebration and President of McAllen’s International Museum of Arts and Science. He is also currently Vice President of Temple Emanuel in McAllen.

Gay Gaddis is founder and CEO of T3, the largest independent, female owned advertising agency in the country, with more than 225 employees nationwide and a growing roster of Fortune 200 clients. An active spokesperson, writer, and artist, Gaddis also serves on the Board of Directors of Monotype Imaging Holdings Inc., is the first female Chairman of the Texas Business Leadership Council, and has received numerous awards and honors, including Fast
Company’s “Top 25 Women Business Builders” and Inc. Magazine’s “Top 10 Entrepreneurs of the Year.”

“It is an honor to serve with Texas leaders and patrons of the arts,” said Gaddis. “My career and success harkens back to my Bachelor of Fine Arts in Studio Art from the University of Texas at Austin. All Texans deserve to have their lives enriched by innovative, creative pursuits.”

Renard U. Johnson is the founder of METI Inc., a professional services company that provides systems engineering and information technology support to federal and commercial customers, such as the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Forest Service, for whom METI is working with 50 nations in jungles, forests and outlands around the world. Johnson serves as chair of the Board of Directors for the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas El Paso Branch, is a former board chairman of the El Paso Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, a member of the University of Texas at El Paso College of Engineering Advisory Board and a director in the Texas Lyceum.

Darrell Windham is a managing member of Dickinson Wright’s Austin office, with forty years of experience representing publicly traded and privately held clients, private equity funds and investors in complex M&A, capital markets, and other domestic and global business transactions. Windham has held leadership roles in many state, local, and national charitable organizations, including serving as President and Chairman of the Texas Exes and as the first President of The Contemporary Austin art museum.

“We are honored to welcome Ito, Gay, Renard and Darrell to the Texas Cultural Trust family,” said Linda LaMantia, Chair of the Board of Directors. “They each bring valuable experience and personal passion to further our mission, and we’re confident that our organization’s future is in excellent hands as they represent our important work within their communities and across Texas.”

Full list of 2018/2019 Texas Cultural Trust Board of Directors:
● Linda LaMantia, Chair – Laredo
● Leslie Ward, Vice Chair – Austin
● Marvin Blum, Treasurer – Fort Worth
● Mary Lamar Leyendecker, Secretary – Laredo
● Judy Robison, Immediate Past Chair – El Paso
● Charles Matthews, At-Large – Dallas
● Alice Carrington Foultz, At-Large – San Antonio
● John Beckworth – Austin
● Ray Benson – Austin
● Leslie Blanton – Houston
● J. Bruce Bugg, Jr. – San Antonio
● Ernest Butler – Austin
● Gregory Davis – Dallas
● Ito Deutsch – McAllen
● Wayne Fisher – Houston
● Gay Gaddis – Austin
● Alexis Hunter – Corpus Christi
● Renard Johnson – El Paso
● Gene Jones – Dallas
● Kathleen Keating – Victoria
● Kathleen R. Kennedy – San Antonio
● Sharon McCullough – Dallas
● Sharon Oeschger – Amarillo
● Kay Olson – Waco
● Karen Oswalt – Austin
● Jay Propes – Austin
● Kristin Salyer – Austin
● Kay Sanford – Lubbock
● Tania Schwartz – El Paso
● Nancy Seliger – Amarillo
● Laura Street – Amarillo
● Mark Watson – San Antonio
● Andrea White – Houston
● Pam Willeford – Austin
● Jeanie Wyatt – San Antonio
● Donna Axum Whitworth – Fort Worth
● Darrell Windham – Austin
● Jocelyn Straus – San Antonio

Recent initiatives that Texas Cultural Trust board members have played an active role in include
convening a statewide Arts Education Task Force to define equitable access to arts education for
children in Texas and participating in a selection committee to select 2019 honorees for the
biennial Texas Medal of Arts Awards taking place February 26-27, 2019.


The Texas Cultural Trust is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization whose mission is to be the leading voice for the arts in education, advocacy, and economic impact in Texas, spotlighting the artistic excellence of our state.  Programs of the Texas Cultural Trust include the biennial Texas Medal of Arts Awards, Texas Women for the Arts, the Texas Young Masters, Arts & Digital Literacy, and Art Can. The Trust also supports the programs of the Texas Commission on the Arts and other qualifying state agencies. Since 2008, the Texas Cultural Trust has invested more than $3.2 million into arts awareness and education, bringing the total investment to more than $4.9 million.  For more information, please visit www.txculturaltrust.org


Giant Noise
Public Relations/Media Inquiries
Phone: 512.382.9017
Email: tct@giantnoise.com
Address: 823 Congress Ave Suite 707
Austin, Texas 78701

Website: txculturaltrust.org
Twitter: @txculturaltrust
Facebook: TexasCulturalTrust
LinkedIn: company/texas-cultural-trust



Texas Cultural Trust