Staff & Board

Staff & Board of Directors

The Texas Cultural Trust’s Board of Directors is a statewide governing board comprised of a diverse group of industry and business leaders, arts patrons and artists, who are passionate about the impact and potential utilization of the arts to benefit the state of Texas. They are charged with guiding the Trust’s long-term financial stability and strategic direction, and leading programs and initiatives.



Heidi Marquez Smith

Executive Director

Jenny Parry

Director of Programs
Carrie Williams

Carrie Williams

Education Programs Specialist

Brenda Bogue

Director of Development

Christina Rupp

Communications Manager



Linda LaMantia




Leslie Ward

Vice Chair



Marvin Blum


Fort Worth


Judy Robison

Immediate Past Chair

El Paso


Charles Matthews




Alice Carrington Foultz


San Antonio


Jocelyn Straus

Chair Emeritus, Texas Medal of Arts Awards

San Antonio


Donna Axum Whitworth

Founding Member, Texas Women for the Arts

January 3, 1942 – November 4, 2018


As the signature event of the Texas Cultural Trust, the Texas Medal of Arts Awards spotlight the power of the arts to the state’s economy, to stimulate children’s education, and to preserve the unique and proud Texas culture.

A respected group of statewide experts will be helping to award honorees in the following categories: Music, Film, Dance, Visual Arts, Corporate, Foundation and Individual Arts Patron, Multimedia, Television, Architecture, Theatre, Arts Education, Literary Arts, Design, and Lifetime Achievement.

For more information, please visit the TMAA website.

Debbie Allen, Houston – Texas Medal of Arts Honoree, Dance
Brendon Anthony, Austin – Texas Music Office, Director
Gigi Antoni, Dallas – Big Thought, President; Texas Medal of Arts Honoree, Arts Education
Don Bacigalupi, Austin/Houston – Lucas Museum, President; At-Large Member
Ray Benson, Austin – Texas Cultural Trust Board Member; Texas Medal of Arts Honoree, Multimedia
Mark Bordas, Austin – Anheuser Busch, Region Vice President of State Affairs; Silver Sponsor
Tina Brown, New York City – Tina Brown Live Media, Founder & CEO; At-Large Member
Rebecca CampbellAustin – Austin Film Society, Executive Director; Organizational Partner
Elaine GarzaAustin – Giant Noise, Principal; Texas Medal of Arts Public Relations
Dr. Gary GibbsAustin – Texas Commission on the Arts, Executive Director
Dean GladdenHouston – Alley Theatre, Managing Director
Chris HarrisonDallas – The Bachelor host, previous Texas Medal of Arts Host, At-Large Member
Craig Hella JohnsonAustin – Conspirare, Founder & Artistic Director; At-Large Member

Theresa JenkinsAustin – GRAMMYs, Executive Director; Organizational Partner
Lois Kim, Austin – Texas Book Festival, Executive Director; Organizational Partner
Katy FlatoSan Antonio – Lake Flato Architects, Texas Medal of Arts Honoree, Architecture, At-Large Member
Linda LaMantiaLaredo – Texas Cultural Trust Board Member
Terry LickonaAustin – Austin City Limits, Executive Producer; Texas Medal of Arts Honoree, Multi-media
Robert LynchWashington, D.C. – American for the Arts, President; Organizational Partner
Christine MessinaAustin – The Messina Group, At-Large Member
Lance Avery MorganAustin – The Society Diaries, Editor-in-Chief; At-Large Member
Heather PageAustin – Texas Film Commission, Director
Aaronetta PierceSan Antonio – 2005 & 2007 Texas Medal of Arts Co-chair
Don PittsAustin – City of Austin Music & Entertainment Division, Program Manager
Dan RatherWharton – Texas Medal of Arts Honoree, Television
Ginger ReederDallas – Neiman Marcus, Vice President of Public Relations; Texas Medal of Arts Honoree; Corporate Arts Patron

Autumn RichAustin – Autumn Rich & Co., President; Event Producer
Maggie Rivas-RodriguezAustin – University of Texas at Austin School of Journalism, Associate Professor; Organizational Partner
Judy RobisonEl Paso – Texas Cultural Trust Board Chair
Charlotte St. MartinDallas – League of America Theatres & Producers, President; Organizational Partner
Dian StaiFredericksburg – Texas Women for the Arts Chai
Shawn StephensHouston – Texas Commission on the Arts, Commissioner
Kathleen Brady StimpertAustin –University of Texas at Austin School of Architecture, Chief Communications Officer
James SurlsTerrell – Texas Medal of Arts Honoree, Visual Arts
Brian SweanyAustin – Texas Monthly, Editor-in-Chief; Texas Cultural Trust, Board Member; Texas Medal of Arts Honoree; Corporate Arts Patron; Silver Sponsor
Nelda TrevinoAustin – Texas Lotto, Director; Silver Sponsor
Leslie Ward, Austin – AT&T, Vice President of External Affairs; Texas Cultural Trust Board Member; Gold Sponsor
Nancy WoznyHouston – Arts + Culture Texas Magazine, Editor-in-Chief; At-Large Member

Texas Cultural Trust