















































# TEXAS CULTURAL TRUST

# 2023**TEXAS MEDAL OF ARTS AWARDS**

Celebrating the power of the Arts

## ABOUT THE AWARDS

Through the Texas Medal of Arts Awards (TMAA), the Texas Cultural Trust spotlights Texas leaders and luminaries who have achieved greatness through their creative talents, as well as those whose generosity has opened doors to artistic opportunity for Texans of all ages. Inspired by the National Medal of Arts and the Kennedy Center Honors, the Texas Medal of Arts has been presented biennially since 2001. Culminating in a star-studded celebration, the Texas Medal of Arts Awards raises substantial financial support, visibility, and awareness about the power of the arts to fuel our state's economy, enhance our children's education, improve our health and well-being, and enrich our cultural heritage.

## 2023 TMAA CHAIRS



Linda LaMantia Laredo TXCT Board Member

**Brandon Maxwell** Longview Fashion Designer

TMAA 2019 Honoree



**Judy Robison** El Paso TXCT Board Member

### 2001

Van Cliburn, Fort Worth: Lifetime Achievement Tommy Lee Jones, San Saba: Film Willie Nelson, Austin: Music Debbie Allen, Houston: Dance Neil Hess, Amarillo: Theatre John Biggers, Houston: Visual Arts Horton Foote, Wharton: Literary Arts Flaco and Santiago Jimenez, San Antonio: Folk Arts Wavne Bell, Austin: Architecture Gilberto Zepeda, Jr., Pharr: Arts Education Jack Blanton, Houston: Individual Arts Patron SBC Communications Inc., San Antonio: Corporate Arts Patror

The Meadows Foundation, Dallas: Foundation Arts Patror

### 2003

John Graves, Glen: Lifetime Achievement Rose Fess Parker, Fort Worth: Film/Television Charley Pride, Dallas: Music Tommy Tune, Wichita Falls: Dance Enid Holm, Odessa: Theatre Glenna Goodacre, Dallas: Visual Arts Sandra Cisneros, San Antonio: Literary Arts Dealey Herndon/State Capitol Preservation Project, Architecture Austin Lvdia Mendoza, San Antonio: Folk Arts Marca Lee Bircher, Dallas: Arts Education Nancy B. Hamon, Dallas: Individual Arts Patron Exxon Mobil Corporation, Irving: Corporate Arts Patron Houston Endowment Inc., Houston: Foundation Arts Patron

### 2005

Vikki Carr, El Paso: Lifetime Achievement Phylicia Rashad, Houston: Television/Theatre Lyle Lovett, Klein: Music Ben Stevenson, O.B.E., Houston: Dance Robert Wilson, Waco: Theatre Jose Cisneros, El Paso: Visual Arts Naomi Shihab Nye, San Antonio: Literary Arts Ginger Head-Gearheart, Fort Worth: Arts Education Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long, Austin: Individual Arts Patron

Nasher Foundation/Raymond D. Nasher, Dallas: Foundation Arts Patron

### 2007

Walter Cronkite, Houston: Lifetime Achievement Ornette Coleman, Fort Worth: Music Alvin Ailey American Dance Theatre, Rogers: Dance

2023 TMAA PRESENTED BY AT&T Favorite JUDY AND KIRK Frost INVESTMENTS **RAY BENSON** ROBISON

TEXAS TRIBUNE

Sponsors at time of printing.



The Tobin Endowment

# Arts Patron 2009

Achievement

### 2011

Barbara Smith Conrad, Pittsburg: Lifetime Achievement ZZ Top, Houston: Music Ray Benson, Austin: Multimedia Marcia Gay Harden, Austin: Film Bill Paxton, Fort Worth: Film Bob Schieffer, Fort Worth: Journalism James Drake, Lubbock: Visual Arts Alley Theatre, Houston: Theatre Robert M. Edsel, Dallas: Literary Arts Tom Staley, Austin: Arts Education HEB, San Antonio: Corporate Arts Patron Sarah and Ernest Butler, Austin: Individual Arts Patron

## 2013

Foundation Arts Patro

The Texas Cultural Trust is a 501c3 nonprofit organization whose mission is to be the leading voice for the arts in education, advocacy, and economic impact in Texas, while spotlighting the artistic excellence of our state. Programs of the Texas Cultural Trust include the Texas Medal of Arts Awards, Art Can, Texas Young Masters, Texas Women for the Arts, Partners in the Arts, and Arts Access. Together with our partners we are shaping the cultural, educational, and economic future of Texas.

> For TMAA sponsorship information, contact Heidi Marguez Smith, Chief Executive Officer at hmarguezsmith@txculturaltrust.org or 512.478.5289

## **RISE WITH THE ARTS** BRUNCH

**Texas Governor's Mansion** 

**RED CARPET RECEPTION**, AWARDS SHOW & GALA DINNER

Long Center for the Performing Arts

The health, safety, and comfort of our sponsors, partners, and guests are of the utmost importance. All event locations, activations, and capacities are subject to change based on CDC and state guidance regarding the COVID-19 pandemic at the time of the events.

SAVE THE DATES

February 21 and 22, Austin Texas

**ARTS ALIVE!** 

VIP RECEPTION

**Commodore Perry Estate** 

**TexasMonthly** 





# TEXAS MEDAL OF ARTS HONOREES — — —

Judith Ivey, El Paso: Theatre Jesús Moroles, Corpus Christi: Visual Arts Sandra Brown, Waco: Literary Arts Bill Wittliff, Austin: Multimedia Paul Baker, Hereford: Arts Education Diana and Bill Hobby, Houston: Individual Arts Patron Neiman Marcus, Dallas: Corporate Arts Patron Sid W. Richardson Foundation, Fort Worth: Foundation

Laura W. Bush, Dallas: Standing Ovation Robert Rauschenberg, Port Arthur: Lifetime

Lake/Flato Architects. San Antonio: Architecture James Dick, Round Top: Arts Education Anheuser-Busch Companies, Corporate Arts Patron Robert Rodriguez, San Antonio: Film Edith O'Donnell, Dallas: Individual Arts Patron Austin City Limits, Austin: Multimedia Clint Black, Houston: Music T.R. Fehrenbach, San Benito: Literary Arts Betty Buckley, Fort Worth: Theatre Arts Keith Carter, Beaumont: Visual Arts

Big Thought/Gigi Antoni, Dallas: Arts Education Gene Jones and Charlotte Jones Anderson. Dallas: Individual Arts Patron Kimbell Art Foundation, Fort Worth: Texas Monthly, Austin: Corporate Arts Patron Steve Miller, Dallas: Music Eva Longoria, Galveston: Multimedia Houston Ballet, Houston: Dance James Surls, Huntsville: Visual Arts

Joe Sears and Jaston Williams (Greater Tuna), Austin Theatre 2015

T Bone Burnett, Fort Worth: Music Jamie Foxx, Terrell: Film Kilgore College Rangerettes, Kilgore: Dance Rick Lowe, Houston: Visual Arts Dr. Pepper Snapple Group, Plano: Corporate Arts Patro Margaret McDermott, Dallas: Individual Arts Patron Emilio Nicolas, San Antonio: Multimedia Dan Rather, Wharton: Television Chandra Wilson, Houston: Television Charles Renfro, Houston: Architecture Robert Schenkkan, Austin: Theatre Booker T. Washington High School for the Performing & Visual Arts. Dallas: Arts Education Lawrence Wright, Austin: Literary Arts Ruth Altshuler, Dallas: Standing Ovation The Gatlin Brothers, Seminole: Lifetime Achievement

### 2017

Eloise and John Paul DeJoria, Paul Mitchell/ Patrón Tequila, Austin: Corporate Arts Patron Kris Kristofferson, Brownsville: Multimedia Lynn Wyatt, Houston: Individual Arts Patron Lauren Anderson, Houston: Dance Yolanda Adams, Houston: Music Dallas Black Dance Theatre, Dallas: Arts Education Renée Elise Goldsberry, Houston: Theatre The Tobin Endowment, San Antonio: Foundation Arts Patron Leo Villareal, El Paso: Visual Arts Frank Welch, Dallas: Architecture John Phillip Santos, San Antonio: Literary Arts Scott Pelley, San Antonio: Journalism

Kenny Rogers, Houston: Lifetime Achievement 2019

**Conspirare**, Austin: Music Ensemble Craig Dykers and Elaine Molinar, San Antonio and El Paso: Architecture Trenton Doyle Hancock, Houston: Visual Arts Stephen Harrigan, Austin: Literary Arts Jennifer Holliday, Houston: Theatre Brandon Maxwell, Longview: Design Matthew McConaughey, Austin: Film Mark Seliger, Houston: Multimedia Boz Scaggs, Plano: Music Vidal M. Trevino School of Communications and Fine Arts, Laredo: Arts Education

# TEXAS CULTURAL TRUST