Texas Cultural Trust Awards 2022-2023 First-Year Teacher Grants

by Texas Cultural Trust

Nine Educators Across Texas Receive Grants Aimed at Funding Professional Resources and Enhancing the Quality of Arts Education for Title I Schools Totaling $13,500 

AUSTIN, TX (November 1, 2022) – Texas Cultural Trust (TXCT), a nonprofit organization whose mission is to be the leading voice for the arts in education, advocacy and economic impact in Texas, announced today the recipients of the 2022-2023 First-Year Teacher Grants including Thomas Gonzales, Matthew Garcia-Perez, Alexis DiSimone, Raul Arita, Allen Daniel, Norma Perez, Jessica Martinez, Vivian Raquel Schmidt Ramirez and Jazmin Gonzalez.

“During their first year in a classroom teachers have the responsibility of educating students on required subject matter and social and emotional learning, while discovering their own voice as an educator,” says Heidi Marquez Smith, Texas Cultural Trust Chief Executive Officer. “We are honored to provide nine recipients with funds to enhance their important work in the classroom and bolster arts education for students in areas with minimal access to the arts.”

First-Year Teacher Grants aim to assist with the expenses associated with completing the first year of teaching at public school. Awardees may apply their grants toward professional development, classroom enrichment, school supplies, field trips and additional resources to enhance the quality of arts education. Recipients of this $1,500 one-time award are entering their first year of teaching, under contract with a Title I campus and TEA-certified as an arts educator. Grantmaking priority is teachers serving rural and low-arts-access areas as part of the application review process.

TXCT has awarded nine educators in the 2022-2023 First-Year Teacher Grant term, totaling $13,500 in grants. The 2022-2023 TXCT First-Year Teacher recipients are:

  • Thomas Gonzales, Brownfield ISD
  • Matthew Garcia-Perez, Bastrop ISD
  • Alexis DiSimone, Manor ISD
  • Raul Arita, New Caney ISD
  • Allen Daniel, Gruver ISD
  • Norma Perez, Galena Park ISD
  • Jessica Martinez, Elgin ISD
  • Vivian Raquel Schmidt Ramirez, Del Valle ISD
  • Jazmin Gonzalez, Castleberry ISD

The First-Year Teacher Grant is offered on an annual basis and will reopen for applications in June 2023. For more information on the Texas Cultural Trust visit www.txculturaltrust.org.  


The Texas Cultural Trust, established in 1995, is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to supporting and increasing access and awareness for the arts across the state. Programs of the organization include the Texas Medal of Arts Awards, Arts Access, Art Can, Texas Young Masters, Texas Women for the Arts, and Partners in the Arts. Texas Cultural Trust efforts are amplified by supporters who are instrumental in the success of leading a cohesive voice for the arts in education, advocacy, and economic impact in Texas, spotlighting the artistic excellence of the state. For more information, visit txculturaltrust.org.

Giant Noise PR