Arts Education Task Force

Jump To

Advocacy for Equitable Arts Education

The Arts Education Task Force (AETF) is convened by the Texas Cultural Trust to discuss and clarify what constitutes equitable arts education access for Texas students. The group is comprised of more than 30 of the state’s most respected arts and arts education leaders–academics, educators, advocates, and philanthropists–from statewide groups including service organizations, education organizations, and other relevant perspectives.

In 2018, the Texas Cultural Trust’s Arts Education Task Force (AETF) was charged with defining what constitutes equitable arts access in public schools. Through this effort, the AETF revealed the inequities in access to fine arts education that exist among school districts and campuses. Task Force meetings in 2018 concluded with the creation of an evaluation tool for use by campus and district administrators to identify levels of arts access. To date, the Arts Education Access Rubric has been utilized to:

  • Generate a heat map illustrating arts education access in Texas at
  • Conduct a statewide pilot for future implementation of the rubric
  • Support district level advocacy resulting in arts access growth on the local level

The priorities of the AETF reflect current needs in the field and address equity in arts education access. Building on our previous work, AETF is charged with the following:

  • Support the implementation of the Arts Education Access Rubric
  • Develop resources to best support identified underserved campuses and districts
  • Identify legislation that will impact arts education in the 87th Legislative Session
  • Inform communications and resources to support and increase awareness around arts education priorities for the 87th Legislative Session

Arts Education Access Evaluation

The Arts Education Access Evaluation, developed by the Arts Education Task Force, evaluates equitable arts education access across the state. Campuses are encouraged to evaluate arts access on the elementary, middle school, and high school level.

Download the Rubric

Arts Education Task Force Members

Dr. Christopher Anderson, Arlington ISD

Kris Andrews, Center for Educator Development in Fine Arts

Dr. Priscilla Canales, Texas Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development, Former Superintendent 

Barbara Cargill, Former State Board of Education

Sara Chapman, Texas Art Educators Association

Dr. Joe Clark, Spring ISD, Texas Music Administrators Conference

Dr. Kelly Crook, University of Texas at Austin, Former Superintendent

Dr. Jackie deMontmollinDenton ISD, Texas Educational Theatre Association

Dr. Jill Fox, Office of Senator Lois Kolkhorst

Dr. Gary Gibbs, Texas Commission on the Arts

Risa Ginther, Parent Teacher Association

Charles Glover, The Meadows Foundation

Lizzette Gonzalez Reynolds, ExcelinEd

Ann Graham, Texans for the Arts

Dr. Brent Hasty, MindPOP

Dan Jackson, Texas Cultural Trust Board

Travis James, TXP, Inc.

JD JandaTomball ISD, Texas Music Administrators Conference

Linda Johnson, Texas Education Agency

Mary Lou Johnson, Texas Dance Educators Association

Kathleen Keating, Texas Cultural Trust Board

Matrex Kilgore, Texas Commission on the Arts

Kelsey Kling, Texas Education Agency

Paul Kretchmer, Austin ISD, Central Texas Fine Arts Administrators

Linda LaMantia, Texas Cultural Trust Board

Max Lars, Chief of StaffRepresentative John H. Bucy III

Julie Linn, Shapiro Linn Strategic Consulting LLC

Deborah Lugo, The Hobby Center for the Performing Arts

Heidi Marquez Smith, Texas Cultural Trust

Jack McBride, Arts Connect Houston

Dinah Menger, Fort Worth ISD, Texas Music Administrators Conference

Jenny Parry, Texas Cultural Trust

Marisa Perez-Diaz, State Board of Education

Judy Robison, Texas Cultural Trust Board

Byron Sanders, Big Thought

Roxanne Schroeder-Arce, University of Texas at Austin College of Fine Arts

Carla Schumann, Comal ISD, Texas Educational Theatre Association

Tania Schwartz, Texas Cultural Trust Board

Dr. Michelle Smith, Raise Your Hand Texas

Michele Stahl, Texas Education Agency

Dr. David Stevens, UIL- Academics

Kay Vanlandingham, Texas Music Educators Association

Leslie Ward, AT&T, Texas Cultural Trust Board

Dr. Robin Ward, Rice University

Dr. Audrey Young, State Board of Education

The Arts Education Task Force (AETF) aligns the arts education communities across Texas to create a unified voice for arts education policy, advocacy, and best practices. The AETF identifies legislative priorities, coordinates messaging, and implements a strategic plan to support meaningful arts education policy.